Don't have an account? Click Here
Sustainable Excellence Initiative
By: Tony Harman
Vote for C-Unit for the Naismith Student Section of the Year.
CU Basketball Fans Encouraged To Vote For C-Unit
Release: January 17, 2013
By: Marlee Horn, Assistant SID
Related Links

BOULDER - The University of Colorado has been nominated as one of the top college basketball student sections in the country and is asking for fan support to help win the prestigious title.

Buffs fans will now have a say in determining the most deserving student section by voting for the Naismith Student Section of the Year Award. By visiting, Colorado fans can vote once per day for C-Unit as the top student section in college basketball. The winning student section gets bragging rights, while the winning school will receive $10,000 to be used in its general scholarship fund.

C-Unit was one of eight finalists for last year's award and continues to get national attention while cheering the Buffs to an astounding 39-5 home record under head coach Tad Boyle. Last season, 50 of the most loyal fans in C-Unit got expense paid trips to Los Angeles for the Pac-12 Conference Tournament, where the Buffs won four games in four days to take home the title, and to Albuquerque, N. M., where the Buffs made it to the third round of the NCAA Men's Basketball Championship.

The Naismith Student Section of the Year Award, which is presented through a partnership of The Collegiate Licensing Company (CLC), an affiliate of IMG College, and the Atlanta Tipoff Club, administrators of the Naismith Awards, is dedicated to celebrating fans that love college hoops and provide support to their college basketball team with devotion and passion.

"College basketball student sections showcase the emotion, energy and passion that define what it means for a team to truly have a home court advantage, and we want to celebrate that," said Catherine Gammon, Senior Vice President of Brand Development for CLC. "We encourage all fans to cast their vote and ensure their favorite school gets recognized for the spirit they display in supporting their team."

The winner will be determined through two rounds of public votes, combined with a scoring of finalists by the Naismith Awards Board of Selectors, which will review criteria such as the student section's name and attendance, as well as photos, video and a write-up submitted by the nominating school. Complete details on the selection process can be found at

Last year's basketball season marked the inaugural Naismith Student Section of the Year Award, with the University of Kansas serving as the official winner of the competition.

Colorado Buffaloes Men's Basketball
The Pain Train
Season Highlights
Chauncey Billups Hall of Fame
Players Postgame Gardner-Webb
Folsom Field Construction Cam: Live views from the construction site.
Brooks: Champions Center Tour Creates New Believer
2015 CUSPY Award Winners
Colorado Captures Its 20th National Title In Skiing
Learn more about CU's Sustainable Excellence Initiative
Plati-'Tudes: Associate AD David Plati returns with his unique look at all things CU.
Colorado introduces its strategic plan for Athletics.
Classic CU