Related Links

BOULDER - The University of Colorado cross country teams are prepped and ready to compete at the 2010 NCAA Cross Country Championship on Monday, November 22, in Terre Haute, Ind.

The No. 7 ranked men's team earned an automatic berth to the championship by placing second at the NCAA Mountain Region Championship on Nov. 13. The No. 8 women qualified with an at-large bid after placing third at regionals. The Buffs have advanced both squads to the national championship in 17 of the last 18 years. The women did not qualify for the 2008 championship.

The men are led by sophomore Joe Bosshard. Andy Wacker has been a consistent No. 2 runner for the Buffs as Bosshard and Wacker finished eighth and ninth, respectively, at the regional championship and were just a half second apart. Aric Van Halen, Christian Thompson and Matt Tebo have also added to the Buffaloes' score this postseason. Cameron Clayton and Matt Biegner raced at regionals and Big 12s for CU and will run again at NCAAs. Martin Medina served as the alternate runner at regionals.  

The men were sixth at nationals last year with 315 points. Thompson was the top scorer, placing 44th overall and just barely missing his first All-American honor by four places (the top-40 runners are awarded USTFCCCA All-America honors).

The CU women are also led by a sophomore in Laura Tremblay. Tremblay has led the Buffs in all four varsity races this season. Emma Coburn has been a top No. 2 scorer for CU and Shalaya Kipp has been coming on strong in the third spot. Laura Thweatt, the only senior on the team, has been a scoring member of CU's team since her freshman campaign. Katie Cumming rounded out CU's score at regionals. Camille Logan and Rachel Viger will also be competing for the Buffs as the raced at Big 12s and regionals.

Colorado was 20th overall at the 2009 championship, totaling 458 points. Allie McLaughlin led the Buffs with a fifth-place finish.

Colorado has a great history at the NCAA Championship with at least one title in six of the last 11 years. CU took home either an individual or team trophy from 2000-04. Kara Grgas-Wheeler won in 2000, leading the women to their first championship. The men followed up with a team championship in 2001. Jorge Torres won the individual title in 2002 and Dathan Ritzenhein won in 2003. Both teams took home hardware in 2004 and the men won the title again in 2006. The years CU has not won a championship, team or individual, was in 2005, 07, 08 and '09.

Of the 31 men's teams participating, the CU men will face three other Big 12 opponents in Big 12 Champion No. 2 Oklahoma State, No. 6 Oklahoma and No. 30 Texas. The women have four other Big 12 competitors in league champion No. 10 Texas Tech, No. 12 Iowa State, No. 19 Oklahoma State and No. 24 Texas.  

The women's 6k race is slated for a 10:08 a.m. (MST) start and the men's 10k race will start approximately at 10:58 a.m. at the La Vern Gibson Cross Country Course. An awards ceremony will follow both races. The races will be streamed online at Indiana State is hosting the championship for the seventh consecutive year and the eighth time in nine years.


Monday, November 22

Lavern Gibson Cross Country Course

Wabash Valley Family Sports Center, Terre Haute, Ind.

10:08 p.m. (MST) 6k Women's Race

10:48 p.m. (MST) 10k Men's Race


(Stream starts at 10 a.m.)