Related Links

WALBUT CREEK, Calif. - University of Colorado Cross Country coach Mark Wetmore has been named the 2011 Pac-12 Men's Coach of the Year, announced by the conference on Tuesday afternoon. CU also placed eight Buffs, four men and four women, on the All-Pac-12 First and Second Teams.

Wetmore coached the men's team to a third-place finish at the NCAA Championships on Nov. 21. Colorado finished just five points behind Oklahoma State at the championship (139-144). The Buffs placed second to BYU (49-55) at the NCAA Mountain Region Championships after winning the Pac-12 Championship on Oct. 29. CU defeated Stanford by seven points to capture the inaugural conference title (46-53).

Richard Medina and Andy Wacker were named to the All-Pac-12 First Team while Joe Bosshard and Christian Thompson earned second team honors. Medina finished eighth at the NCAA Championships and Wacker took 20th overall. Bosshard placed 24th overall and Thompson was the 49th overall runner to cross the finish. Medina, Wacker and Bosshard each earned All-American honors as they finished in the top-40.

On the women's side Shalaya Kipp and Emma Coburn picked up first team honors. Lara Darco and Rachel Baptista were second team selections. Kipp and Coburn finished 19th and 20th, respectively, at the NCAA Championship to each All-American status. Darco placed 97th and Baptista took 170th at nationals.

The complete Pac-12 release can be viewed at


Coach of the Year

Mark Wetmore

First Team

Richard Medina

Andy Wacker

Second Team

Joe Bosshard

Christian Thompson


First Team

Shalaya Kipp

Emma Coburn

Second Team

Lara Darco

Rachel Baptista