Related Links
BOULDER—Sophomore Alex Stewart and senior Jess Wallace both earned recognition on the 2011-12 National Golf Coaches Association All-America Scholar team, released Monday.  To qualify, a golfer must maintain at least a 3.5 grade point average and play in two-thirds of the season’s competition.  

Stewart and Wallace become just the second pair to earn the honor in the same season, joining Wallace and senior Taylor Doyle from last year.  Wallace is just the second repeat winner in program history, joining Maria Persson-Gulda, who was honored three times from 2004-06.  Wallace has actually made the team four times, including after her freshman and sophomore seasons at Pepperdine before transferring to Colorado. 

Stewart becomes the seventh player in CU history to win the award, joining Doyle, Wallace, Persson-Gulda, Michelle Thomas, Lynn Anne Moretto and Jamie Befort.  

“This is a tremendous honor,” CU head coach Anne Kelly said. “With CU’s academic standards and the travel associated with being a Division I women’s golfer, that makes this award that much more impressive.”

Stewart put the caps on one of the best seasons in CU history, leading the team with a stroke average of 73.81, the third-best mark in school history, while her spring stroke average of 73.54 is the best mark in program annals.  She was ranked the No. 36 player national by Golfweek and No. 37 by Golfstat in the final rankings, the best marks in CU history and she was named second-team All-Pac-12 and was honorable mention All-America by Golfweek. 

Wallace closed out a spectacular two-year career at CU, playing in 69 rounds at CU with a stroke average of 74.04, the best mark at CU with at least 50-plus rounds played.  Her 72.97 average as a junior is the CU season record.  In all, she owns 31 school records, 20 of them outright, and ranks second on eight other career records despite only playing two years.  

In the Pac-12, a total of 15 student-athletes were honored and the Buffs duo matched two from California while Stanford (three) and Arizona State (four) are the only other schools with more honored than the Buffaloes.