Related Links
BOULDER—Junior Gus Hander was one of 51 players nationally named to the Rimington Trophy watch list Tuesday, an award presented to the country’s best center at season’s end.  Handler is one of five Pac-12 players on the list. 

Handler saw spot duty in the first three games last year before taking over at center in the Ohio State game and from that point on, he saw action in all but 48 offensive plays over the last 10 games of the season.  In all, he played in 613 plays and was graded out at 81.6 percent with 500 plus plays.  He had 14 great effort blocks, four touchdown blocks and allowed just one sack and two quarterback pressures.  His best game was the Arizona game, when he graded out at over 90 percent.  

The Rimington Trophy is in its 13th season and is overseen by the Boomer Esiason Foundation.  The winner is selected based on the center position on the following All-America teams: American Football Coaches Association, Walter Camp Foundation, Sporting News and Football Writers Association of America.  The winner will be honored at the Rococo Theater in Lincoln, Neb., on January 12, 2013. 

Several Buffs have been on the watch list for the Rimington, and in 2005, Mark Fenton was one of six finalists for the award.  Seven CU players have won nine national football trophies: Alfred Williams, 1990 (Butkus), Deon Figures, 1992 (Thorpe), Chris Hudson, 1994 (Thorpe), Rashaan Salaam, 1994 (Heisman, Walter Camp, Doak Walter), Matt Russell, 1996 (Butkus), Dan Graham, 2001 (Mackey) and Mark Mariscal, 2002 (Ray Guy).  

Handler joins Ray Polk as CU players added to an official watch list for a major postseason award.  On May 8, Polk was added to the watch list for the Ronnie Lott Impact Trophy.  

The watch lists for the Bednarik Award and the Maxwell Award were announced July 9 and along with the Rimington Trophy, the John Mackey watch list was announced Tuesday.  

The Lou Groza and Ray Guy Awards will be announced Wednesday, followed by the Bronko Nagurski Trophy and Outland Trophy on Thursday.  Friday, the Jim Thorpe Award watch list will be unveiled, followed then by the Rotary Lombardi and Butkus Awards (July 16), Biletnikoff Award (July 17), Davey O’Brien (July 18), Doak Walker Award (July 19) and Walter Camp (July 20).   The Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award announces its initial list usually in late September.