BOULDER—Time to vote for University of Colorado senior Jenny Barringer for the inaugural The Bowerman award is running out.


The Bowerman, which will be given to the top male and female track and field athlete of the year, has fan voting which will remain open until Friday, November 20, at 10:59 p.m. MST.


This year’s group of finalists was selected by The Bowerman Advisory Board. There are three women’s finalists. Besides Barringer, the other two are Destinee Hooker (Texas) and Porscha Lucas (Texas A&M). The men’s finalists are Ashton Eaton (Oregon), German Fernandez (Oklahoma State) and Galen Rupp (Oregon). Fans can vote at Barringer has a small lead with 39 percent of the vote. Lucas is second with 36 percent of the votes.


The native of Oviedo, Fla., was named the Honda Sports Award winner for track and field and was a finalist for the Honda Broderick-Cup in June. Barringer set six NCAA records in 2009 as well as seven CU records. She won her second USA Track & Field steeplechase title in June and then raced to a fifth-place finish at the IAAF World Championships in August; slashing 10 seconds off her American record with a time of 9:12.50 to become the eighth fastest woman ever in the event.


Barringer also won a pair of Big 12 titles in 2009 (indoor mile and steeplechase) and a pair of NCAA Championships in the indoor 3k and the steeplechase. Barringer became the first Buff, male or female, to win three NCAA individual titles in the same even (three in the steeplechase) and the first female to win four NCAA crowns. Her mile time of 4:25.91 was the fastest run in the world during the 2009 season.


The Bowerman Fan Vote will count for one vote of the overall final tally. The rest of the vote is determined by The Bowerman Voters, which is composed of NCAA collegiate administrators, national and regional media personnel, and track & field statisticians.


The 2009 announcement and presentation of the winner of The Bowerman will be held on December 16, in conjunction with the 2009 USTFCCCA Convention at the JW Marriott Grande Lakes in Orlando, Fla.


Barringer’s NCAA Records:

Mile: 4:25.91

Indoor 3k: 8:42.03

Indoor 5k: 15:01.70

1500-meters: 3:59.90

Outdoor 5k: 15:07.64

Steeplechase: 9:25.54



Barringer’s CU records:

Mile: 4:25.91

Indoor 3k: 8:42.03

Indoor 5k: 15:01.70

Outdoor 800: 2:02.56

Outdoor 1500-meters: 3:59.90

                Outdoor 5k: 15:05.25

Steeplechase: 9:12.50


Barringer was also named a finalist for the USATF Jesse Owens Athletes of the Year Award presented by Nike in October. The ace steeplechaser was the only collegiate athlete nominated for the award this year and it’s extremely rare for a collegian to be up for this award. The other four female finalists include Allyson Felix, Carmelita Jeter, Brittany Reese and Sanya Richards.



The Bowerman is named in honor of track and field pioneer Bill Bowerman, who served the sport of track and field in numerous ways, including his leadership in the USTFCCCA predecessor organization the National Collegiate Track Coaches Association, and his contributions to NCAA track and field and the running community as a whole.


The inaugural award will recognize the 2009 winners of The Bowerman. The announcement and presentation of the inaugural award will be held in conjunction with the 2009 USTFCCCA Convention. The convention will be held at the JW Marriott Grande Lakes in Orlando, Florida from December 14 - 17.