Related Links

BOULDER - The University of Colorado has been nominated as one of the top college basketball student sections in the country and is asking for fan support to help win the prestigious title.  Buff fans will now have a say in determining the most deserving student section by voting for the Naismith Student Section of the Year Award. 

By visiting, Colorado fans can vote for the C-Unit as the top student section in college basketball. The Naismith Student Section of the Year Award, which is presented through a partnership of The Collegiate Licensing Company (CLC), a division of IMG College, and the Atlanta Tipoff Club, administrators of the Naismith Awards, is dedicated to celebrating fans that love college hoops and provide support to their college basketball team with devotion and passion.

"I told them they are the heartbeat of this arena, they are the difference makers," said CU head coach Tad Boyle of the Coors Events Center crowd after a recent home victory. "The community has been great all year when the students were gone on break. To have that (student) section full was key and I just want them to know that we appreciate and we need them."

Nearly 80 schools representing 21 conferences are vying for the title.

The Naismith Student Section of the Year Award will be determined through two rounds of public votes, combined with a scoring of finalists by the Naismith Awards Board of Selectors, which will review criteria such as the student section's name and attendance, as well as photos, video, and a write-up submitted by the nominating school. 

Complete details on the selection process can be found at

The top 16 institutions from the public vote will move to a final round of public votes, which will occur February 13-24, 2012. The top eight recipients of public votes will be sent to the Naismith Awards Board of Selectors for a final vote. 

The only way for your school to win is for your fans to vote.

The winning student section gets bragging rights, while the winning school will receive $5,000 for its athletic association.