Related Links

WALNUT CREEK, Calif. — For the third straight year, University of Colorado Cross Country coach Mark Wetmore has been named the Pac-12 Men’s Coach of the Year, announced by Commissioner Larry Scott on Tuesday.

Wetmore coached the men’s team to a first-place finish at the NCAA Championships on Nov. 23 for the fourth time in CU history. Colorado recorded a score of 149 to defeat Northern Arizona by 20 points (169). Earlier in the season, the Buffs also won their third consecutive Pac-12 Championship on Nov. 2 to continue their dominance since entering the conference in 2011. At the meet, the Buffs placed all five of their scorers in the top-10 for a score of 28. Oregon was the runner-up with 54 points.

All five of CU’s scorers earned all-conference honors for the season as the top seven finishers at the Pac-12 Championships are named to the first team and the eighth through 14th finishers are placed on the second team.

Junior Blake Theroux was the top finisher for CU at Pac-12s, crossing third overall, and sophomore Connor Winter was fourth. Freshman Ben Saarel took fifth place and sophomore Pierce Murphy was seventh. Those four were named members of the All-Pac-12 First-Team, while sophomore Ammar Moussa placed ninth to record a spot on the second team.

The women’s team also did well at the Pac-12 Championship, finishing just six points behind Arizona for second place (69-75). Four women were honored on the second team and were led by senior Shalaya Kipp, who placed eighth. Sophomore Carrie Verdon took 10th, freshman Erin Clark was 13th and freshman Melanie Nun placed 14th overall.

The complete Pac-12 release can be viewed at



Coach of the Year

Mark Wetmore


First Team

Pierce Murphy

Ben Saarel

Blake Theroux

Connor Winter

Second Team

Ammar Moussa



Second Team

Erin Clark

Shalaya Kipp

Melanie Nun

Carrie Verdon