Don't have an account? Click Here
Sustainable Excellence Initiative
Buffs Finish Fourth At Own Invitational
Release: February 02, 2014
By: Curtis Snyder, Associate SID
Related Links

WINTER PARK — A tough day in giant slalom saw the University of Colorado ski team slide one spot to finish fourth at its own Spencer James Nelson Memorial Invitational, the third of four regular season meets of the 2014 season.

Denver won its second straight meet, compiling 648 points and winning by 57 points over second-place New Mexico (591). Utah finished third with 579 points, 24 ahead of the Buffaloes total of 555. The Lobos, Utes and Buffs entered the final day with just three points separating themselves. Montana State (415) passed Alaska Anchorage (398) to finish fifth.

“The races today didn’t go as expected,” CU coach Richard Rokos said. “We have good depth and have had good results, but we need to improve a few places. I still feel like we can content with anybody, but we are still recovering. Our Nordic guys did a great job and can probably make up some points when we need it, but now it’s up to alpine and our depth to improve a few spots. We will analyze it tonight and come out again tomorrow.”

The men’s teams got the day underway and six of the seven Buffs who finished the race in seven places between 12th and 18th with just 79-hundredths of a second separating all six. Sophomore Adam Zika led the way with a two-run total of 2 minutes, 0.73 seconds. Freshman Roger Carry was 13th in 2:00.98, sophomore Henrik Gunnarsson 14th in 2:01.07, sophomore Cameron Smith 15th in 2:01.09, senior Andreas Haug 16th in 2:01.26 and sophomore Kasper Hietanen 18th in 2:01.26.

Senior Fletcher McDonald was just another second back in 23rd place in 2:02.29. Freshman Tanner Mottau had the second-fastest first run and in looking for a top time, did not finish his second run.

On the women’s side, sophomore Brooke Wales led the way with an eighth place finish in a time of 2:10.88, followed by sophomore Jessica Honkonen, who was 11th in a time of 2:11.72. Junior Shane McLean was 15th in a time of 2:13.66 with sophomore Thea Grosvold finishing 21st in 2:14.16 and sophomore Clare Wise 26th in 2:21.23. Freshman Katie Hostetler did not finish her first run.

“Not having a podium at the Spencer Nelson on the alpine side is pretty disappointing,” Rokos said. “What happened to Jessica yesterday and Tanner today, we have had some chances and have the ability, we just have to move the whole team up a few places.”

The CU Invitational is now completed, but the Rocky Mountain Intercollegiate Ski Association skiers will stay one more day in Winter Park for an Alpine Qualifier race on Monday. After a short break, the final regular season meet will take place in Red River, N.M., with the Jade Enterprises New Mexico Invitational Feb. 7-8.

Colorado Invitational Team Scores (FINAL)—1. Denver 648; 2. New Mexico 591; 3. Utah 579; 4. Colorado 555; 5. Montana State 415; 6. Alaska Anchorage 398; 7. Westminster 248; 8. Wyoming 76; 9. Colorado Mountain College 39.

Men’s Giant Slalom (34 finishers)— 1. Tim Lindgren, WMC, 1:58.5; 2. Sebastian Brigovic, DU, 1:59.7; 3. David Herzog, WMC, 1:59.8; 4. Sean Horner, UNM, 2:00.1; 5. Joergen Brath, UU, 2:00.3; . Jonas Nyberg, WMC, 2:00.3; 7. Armin Triendl, UNM , 2:00.3; 8. Andy Trow, UU , 2:00.4; 9. Benoit Jagot, WMC , 2:00.5; 10. David Neuhauser, MSU, 2:00.6; . Michael Bansmer, UNM, 2:00.7; 12. Adam Zika, CU, 2:00.7; 13. Roger Carry, CU, 2:01.0; 14. Henrik Gunnarsson, CU, 2:01.1; 15. Cameron Smith, CU, 2:01.1; 16. Andreas Haug, CU, 2:01.3; 17. Cedrik Gagnon, UAA, 2:01.3; 18. Kasper Hietanen, CU, 2:01.5; 19. Mark Miller, UNM , 2:01.5; 20. Joonas Rasanen, UNM, 2:01.7; 21. Eian Sandvik, UU, 2:01.8; 22. Juho-Pekka Penttinen, UNM , 2:02.0; 23. Fletcher McDonald, CU, 2:02.3; 24. Scott Snow, UNM, 2:02.8; 5. Sam Monsen, MSU, 2:02.9; 26. David Owsley, MSU, 2:03.1; 27. Charlie Reynolds, DU, 2:03.4; 28. Ryan Mcconnell, MSU, 2:03.6; 29. Taylor Shiffrin, DU , 2:03.8; 30. Kei Kullberg, UAA , 2:03.9; 31. Kitt Flowers, DU , 2:04.1; 32. Curtis Mckillop, UAA, 2:04.5; 33. James Schindler, UAA, 2:07.1; 34. Connor Croasdale, CMC, 2:13.7. Other Colorado Skier—Tanner Mottau (DNF, 2nd run).

Women’s Slalom (28 finishers)— 1. Kristine Haugen, DU, 2:07.2; 2. Tonje Sekse, WMC, 2:09.2; 3. Marie Aufrere, WMC, 2:09.4; 4. Kristiina Rove, UU, 2:09.5; 5. Mateja Robnik, UNM, 2:10.0; 6. Kelly McBroom, MSU , 2:10.7; 7. Courtney Altringer, UNM, 2:10.8; 8. Brooke Wales, CU, 2:10.9; 9. Jaime DuPratt, UU, 2:11.1; 10. Teagen Palmer, UU , 2:11.6; 11. Jessica Honkonen, CU, 2:11.7; 12. Sydney Staples, UNM, 2:12.0; 13. Ana Kobal, UU, 2:12.2; 14. Devin Delaney, DU, 2:12.7; 15. Shane McLean, CU, 2:13.2; 16. Tianda Carroll, DU, 2:13.2; 17. Sarah Freeman, MSU, 2:13.3; 18. Marissa Riopelle, MSU, 2:13.5; 9. Vanessa Berther, UAA, 2:13.7; 20. Taylor Grauer, UNM, 2:14.1; 21. Thea Grosvold, CU, 2:14.2; 22. Bridget French, DU , 2:16.3; 23. Katerine Lamoureux, UAA, 2:18.6; 24. Victoria McVicker, UAA, 2:19.3; 25. Kaytlyn Samuelson, MSU, 2:20.6; 26. Clare Wise, CU, 2:21.2; 27. Una Trivanovic, MSU, 2:25.0; 28. Miranda Sheely, UAA, 2:28.5. Other Colorado Skier—Katie Hostetler (DNF, 1st Run).


Colorado Buffaloes Skiing
Ski Season In Review
Final NCAA Ski Recap
NCAA Championship Announcement
NCAA Ski Day 3 Recap
Folsom Field Construction Cam: Live views from the construction site.
Brooks: Champions Center Tour Creates New Believer
2015 CUSPY Award Winners
Colorado Captures Its 20th National Title In Skiing
Learn more about CU's Sustainable Excellence Initiative
Plati-'Tudes: Associate AD David Plati returns with his unique look at all things CU.
Colorado introduces its strategic plan for Athletics.
Classic CU