Related Links
BOULDER—Junior OT David Bakhtiari was one of 71 players nationally Thursday to be named to the watch list for the 2012 Outland Trophy, as selected by the Football Writers Association of America.  

The Outland Trophy winner is chosen from three finalists who are part of the FWAA All-America Team. The FWAA All-America Committee, after voting input from the entire membership, selects the 25-man team and eventually the three Outland finalists to be named on Nov. 19. Committee members, then by individual ballot, select the winner.

Bakhtiari is a preseason All-Pac-12 selection by several outlets after last season being named second-team All-Pac-12 by the Pac-12 Coaches, Phil Steele’s College Football and  Bakhtiari was injured in the first game last year after just seven plays but missed just two games.  After he came back in the Ohio State game, he played in all 623 of the remaining offensive plays over the last 10 games of the season, grading out to 84.4 percent.  

He had 21 great effort blocks, two touchdown blocks, and gave up just two sacks and three quarterback pressures while committing just one penalty all season long.  His best game was his initial return against Ohio State where he graded out at over 90 percent.  

Bakhtiari joins Darragh O’Neill, Gus Handler and Ray Polk as current CU players added to an official watch list for a major postseason award.  On May 8, Polk was added to the watch list for the Ronnie Lott Impact Trophy while Handler was named to the Rimington Trophy watch list on Tuesday and O’Neill on the Ray Guy watch list Wednesday.

CU’s Joe Garten was the runner-up for the trophy, given to the nation’s top interior lineman, in 1990 and Nate Solder was one of three semifinalists in 2010.  

Presented annually since 1946, it is the third oldest award in major college football. The winner of the 67th Outland Trophy, named after the late John Outland, an All-America lineman at Penn and Kansas at the turn of the century, will be announced on The Home Depot College Football Awards on Dec. 6 on ESPN.

The Outland Trophy presentation banquet, sponsored by the Greater Omaha Sports Committee, will be held on Jan. 10, 2013, in Omaha, Neb.

Along with the Outland Trophy, the Bronko Nagurski Trophy watch list was announced Friday.  The watch lists for the Bednarik Award and the Maxwell Award were announced July 9 and the Rimington Trophy and John Mackey watch lists were announced Tuesday and the Lou Groza watch list was also unveiled with the Ray Guy on Wednesday.

The Rotary Lombardi and Butkus Awards will be unveiled on July 16, followed then by the Biletnikoff Award (July 17), Davey O’Brien (July 18), Doak Walker Award (July 19) and Walter Camp (July 20). The Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award announces its initial list usually in late September.