Related Links

WALNUT CREEK, Calif. - A trio of University of Colorado cross country harriers, Nikki Look, Jerome Perkins and Rachel Viger, were named to the 2012 Pac-12 All-Academic First Team on Thursday afternoon, Commissioner Larry Scott announced.

Look and Viger made the first team with perfect 4.0 grade point averages. Look, a senior from Castle Rock, Colo., will graduate in May of 2013 with a degree in applied mathematics. She intends to continue her education by attending medical school. Viger, a junior from Fort Collins, Colo., is making her second straight appearance on the team and is majoring in chemical engineering.  

Perkins, a senior from Franklin Lakes, N.J., is the lone CU male on the first team. He is majoring in applied mathematics and has a 3.80 GPA.

A pair of Buffs were also named to the second team. Junior Diana George (Livermore, Calif.) was named to the women's second team for the second straight year. She has recorded a 3.79 GPA while majoring in mechanical engineering. Matt Biegner (Broomfield. Colo.) earned his second Pac-12 All-Academic honor on the men's second team with a 3.58 GPA. The senior will graduate in May with degrees in political science and finance.

A total of eight other Buffs were named to the honorable mention team. Joe Bosshard, Courtney Bouchet, Lara Darco, Camille Logan, Ryan Savercool, Jana Stolting, Liz Tremblay and Jeff Warren were honored for their performances this season.

To be eligible for the honor, a student-athlete needs to have a minimum 3.0 overall grade-point average and be either a starter or significant contributor to the team.

Colorado's seventh-ranked men and 23rd-ranked women's teams are in Louisville, Ky. for the 2012 NCAA Championships on Saturday, November 17, at E.P. 'Tom' Sawyer State Park. The women's race will start at 10 a.m. MT and the men will follow at 11:15 a.m. The races will be streamed live at


First Team

Nikki Look

Rachel Viger

Second Team

Diana George

Honorable Mention selections

Courtney Bouchet

Lara Darco

Camille Logan

Jana Stolting

Liz Tremblay


First Team

Jerome Perkins

Second Team

Matt Biegner

Honorable Mention selections

Joe Bosshard

Ryan Savercool

Jeff Warren