Related Links

WALNUT CREEK, Calif. - For the second straight year, University of Colorado Cross Country coach Mark Wetmore has been named the 2012 Pac-12 Men's Coach of the Year, announced by Commissioner Larry Scott on Wednesday.

Wetmore coached the men's team to a third-place finish at the NCAA Championships on Nov. 17 for the second time in as many seasons. Colorado finished just 23 points behind second-place Wisconsin at nationals (135-158) and was 33 points in front of fourth-place Northern Arizona (191).

The Buffs won their second consecutive Pac-12 title on Oct. 27. CU had three runners finish in the top 10 and all five scorers were in the top 15. All seven harriers crossed the finish in the top 20. The Buffs posted the largest margin of victory (33 points) at the league's championship since 2003, defeating Stanford 49-82.

Seven Buffs, six men and one woman, earned all-conference honors this season. The top seven finishers at the Pac-12 Championships are named to the first team. The eighth through 14th finishers at the conference championships are placed on the second team.

Sophomore Blake Theroux was the top finisher for CU at the conference meet, crossing seventh overall to earn first team all-league honors. He was the only Buff, male or female, to earn All-Pac-12 first team honors with his finish.

Five of Theroux's teammates were named to the second team. Jake Hurysz was eighth at Pac-12s, followed by Hugh Dowdy (ninth), Aric Van Halen (12th), Martin Medina (13th) and Pierce Murphy (14th). Theroux, Hurysz and Van Halen all earned All-American honors at NCAAs last weekend by placing in the top 40.

On the women's side junior Shalaya Kipp picked up second team honors. Kipp was 11th at the Pac-12 Championships and then finished the 2012 season with an 18th-place finish at the NCAA Championships, improving from last season's 19th-place finish. Kipp became just the fourth female Buff to earn All-American honors three times at CU in cross country; joining the elite group of associate head coach Heather Burroughs, Sara (Gorton) Slattery and Liza Pascuito.

The complete Pac-12 release can be viewed at  

Coach of the Year
Mark Wetmore

First Team
Blake Theroux

Second Team
Hugh Dowdy
Jake Hurysz
Martin Medina
Pierce Murphy
Aric Van Halen

Second Team
Shalaya Kipp