Don't have an account? Click Here
Sustainable Excellence Initiative
By: Larry Lawson
CU junior Joe Morris must now aim at the 200m as his ticket to London.
CU's Morris Comes Up Short In 100m Qualifying Heat
Release: June 23, 2012
Related Links
EUGENE, Oregon - Colorado junior Joe Morris failed to qualify here Saturday in his heat of the 100 meters, leaving next week's 200 meter competition as his remaining chance to earn a berth on Team USA for the London Olympics.

Needing to finish in the top three of five qualifying heats or gain entry via his time, Morris finished fifth in the fifth heat with a clocking of 10.63 seconds at the U.S. Olympic Trials at Hayward Field.

Justin Gatlin, the winner of Morris' heat, posted the afternoon's top time of 9.90 seconds. Also finishing ahead of Morris in his heat were Trell Kimmons (10.11), Charles Simon (10.17) and Justin Austin (10.43).

The top four overall finishers behind Gatlin, who was running unattached, were American and meet record-holder Tyson Gay (10.00), Ryan Bailey (10.03), Walter Dix (10.03) and Michael Rodgers (10.05).

Gay, who is backed by adidas, ran a 9.69 in 2009 to set the American 100-meter record and set the meet record with a 9.77 timing in 2008.

Sunday's 100 meter semifinals will feature the 21 racers who advanced from Saturday's qualifying heats - 15 based on their 1-3 finishes and six based on their times. Former CU sprinter Jeremy Dodson had hoped to compete Saturday but did not make the qualifying field.

The Buffs have no current or former athletes competing on Sunday, but Monday's schedule is liberally sprinkled with names familiar to CU track and field followers.

Emma Coburn, the 2011 NCAA 3,000 meter steeplechase champion, and Shalaya Kipp, the 2012 NCAA champ, will attempt to qualify in that event.

CU assistant coaches Casey Malone (discus) and Billy Nelson (steeplechase) will try to move on in their events. Also scheduled to participate on Monday are former Buff athletes Lesley Higgins (steeplechase) and Laura Thweatt, Renee Metivier Baillie, Kenyon Neuman, Dathan Ritzenhein and Brent Vaughn - all in the 5,000 meters.

CU graduate student Jessica Tebo, who transferred from Seattle Pacific University, has been scratched from the 5k race.

Colorado Buffaloes Track and Field
Potts Invite Highlights
Hall of Fame: Don Meyers
Hall of Fame: Yvonne Scott
Emma Coburn wins Steeplechase
Folsom Field Construction Cam: Live views from the construction site.
CU Athletic Hall of Fame Profile: Ski Coach Bob Beattie
CU Athletic Hall of Fame Profile: Track & Field Hurdler Yvonne Scott
Pac-12 Networks Derek McCartney feature.
CU Video's "Seasons" winner of a 2014 Heartland Emmy Award.
Plati-'Tudes: Associate AD David Plati returns with his unique look at all things CU.
Colorado introduces its strategic plan for Athletics.
Buffs unveil more information on new facilities at the spring game.
Denver-based Mortensen Construction & Populous are the design/build team for CU's Athletic Complex...
Learn more about CU's Sustainable Excellence Initiative
Classic CU